Best Wordpress Development Company In Kolkata

About Gynecological Cancers

What are gynaecological cancers?

This site focuses on the cancers of women. These cancers are collectively termed gynaecological cancers. Amongst these are cervical cancers (cancer of the mouth of the womb), Ovarian cancers, uterine cancers (cancer of the uterine body or the lining of the womb also called endometrial cancer), vulval cancers (cancer of the skin that surrounds the outer part of the vagina, between a woman’s legs). Breast cancer does not fall in the purview of gynaecological cancers.

Who should manage gynaecological cancers?

Internationally, gynaecological cancers are managed by gynaecological oncologists. This is also the trend in India at present. Gynaecologists who are trained extensively in cancer surgery and focus only on performing these surgeries on a daily basis should be the persons (Gynecologic Oncologist Kolkata) who should treat these cancers. Most often these surgeries are extensive and require careful prior planning. All cancers require a multidisciplinary approach and radiation oncologists (also called clinical oncologists) and medical oncologists are involved in the decision making and management of patients.

Treatment decisions are often taken through Tumour Boards comprising a multi-disciplinary approach and the best available evidence.

Reproductive Organs

The uterus is part of a woman’s reproductive system. It’s a hollow organ in the pelvis. The uterus has three parts:

  • Top: The top fundus of your uterus is shaped like a dome. From the top of your uterus, the fallopian tubes extend to the ovaries.
  • Middle: The middle part of your uterus is the body (corpus). This is where a baby grows.
  • Bottom: The narrow, lower part of your uterus is the cervix. The cervix is a passageway to the vagina.

The wall of the uterus has two layers of tissue:

  • Inner layer: The inner layer (lining) of the uterus is the endometrium..
  • Outer layer: The outer layer of muscle tissue is the myometrium.